Capturing Heartwarming Moments

So there I was at the end of the week, tired and in a noisy restaurant with noisy strangers, loud music with several sporting events on various large flat screen televisions and far too many people on their phones chatting away when my dear acquaintance insisted we leave to meet a friend of his who was sure to be instrumental with helping me jumpstart a project.  To be quite frank, packing myself up to go to yet another stop was the last thing on my mind.  I needed downtime, quiet.  All I wanted to do was go home and watch the latest televison episode of NBC’s Dateline show.  You see, I’m typically “on” for work at my day job as a public relations professional with clients and as a professor with my students and fellow faculty members,  so the last thing on my mind was to be “on” for meeting someone new at this late time of evening.  Uggh.

Before I knew it, in the middle of my “NO!” mindset, my friend was on his cell phone talking to the person about dropping by.  As he laughed and made arrangements for our forthcoming visit, I sulked and just calculated how long and agonizing this would all be.  Yes, I wanted possible assistance but it was late; I wanted to go home, to reflect and process my week’s journey.  I wanted to just settle down and watch Dateline…but, uggh, plans were now set for introductions at Mr. B’s home.

Resolving a lost, I put my game face on and graciously went to me someone new.

As we drove into the neighborhood of Mr. B, I was amazed at the shift of energy…all was so quiet, serene, indicative of my innate nature.  Hhmm…I, too, was beginning to shift.

From the moment his door opened engulfing us with soft music and the warm greeting of our host, opening his welcoming arms, I melted into the spirit of my new headspace for the evening.  I offered a hug which seemed to naturally beacon more so than the traditional handshake.

I melted into the spirit of my new headspace for the evening.

Our host was truly gracious with an infectious smile and jolly, open nature.  Settling into a comfy sofa, I gently eased into what I love best:  great conversation, flowing dialogue and moments to be treasured and savored.  Seems we were from the same childhood neighborhood, thus, we journeyed back in time to those folks of common, the remember when this-and-that happened and exploration of who’s now where and doing what.  To top the evening off, I ventured off into the world of my host’s yearbook which truly extracted memories and reflective moments of oh, my gosh and look at so-and-so back then and more grand remembrances from years-gone-by.

I noticed my host heartily laughing at the connections and the joys of yesteryear.  Before I knew it, time had soared by and it was time to bid farewell.  I could not help but extend another hug, a parting jester to thank him for easing my heart and soul for the evening.  And, to think, I wanted to hang out with an episode of Dateline when there was this very real, heartwarming, authentic connection and nurturing evening chat.

Ahh, another gem of moments to treasure….and when I least expected.

Definitely another treasured conversation gem topic for the next crochet gathering.

Living Room Brown Pillows

Here, a relaxing scene taken from the set of my travelling talk forum,

The Living Room Experience(R):  Where Meaningful Chats Change Lives

It’s all about the conversation and meaningful moments.

2 thoughts on “Capturing Heartwarming Moments

Leave a Reply

