Let The Yarn Speak: Can we go for a “dry”?

Working with yarn, textile or fiber to create art may involve experimenting.  For instance, when framing my wool pieces, I do not place anything under glass because yarn can actually sweat under it.  My motto is to allow the yarn to speak to me; that is, to carefully observe and intuit what can work.

Let the yarn speak!

Recently, after the first steps of crochet before sculpting it into a finished product–that of jewelry or fine art–I got a calling to toss a bunch of items into the dryer.  Crazy but I was compelled; the yarn told me to do it.

Well, I tossed my works in, then went on to do other things.   A short while later I returned and was amazed.  I actually sat and became mesmerized watching the toss of all my stringed works.  It was a wonderful rainbow swirling around. The blues and yellows and greens and red. 

Then I busted out in laughter. 

This is sick:  what the heck am I doing lovingly watching a rainbow of string toss around in circles?  Reminded me of being a child watching my teddy bear dry…slowly bumping around in circles.  Joyously chaotic.

Then even more crazy, I ran to get my camera for a picture…a crazy photo shoot of yarn in the dryer.  What the what???

image
Crocheted yarn string in the dryer. Photo Copyright 2016 (c) Alicia Evans
image

Well, when it all finished swirling around, I must say there was, indeed, a far more fluffier appearance.  Next step, to create finished works.

Ahh, the mind of a creative is always at work.
What do you think of this? 

Leave a Reply

